How Love Entered the World 

img_2039The date had come and gone. Two weeks of off and on contractions were getting old. Yet still here I was 6 days past my due date with a belly so tight it felt desperate to explode. My emotions growing heavy, the dread of facing another day pregnant were setting in.

The evening of January 1, 2017 as Bruce prayed for me he felt the Lord say God was preparing me because it was going to be a very quick delivery. Oh how I longed that would be true. Hours later at 2am on January 2nd the contractions started up again. This time they didn’t stop.

In between the light contractions I slept for an hour until they were too strong to ignore. As the intensity rose I soon found myself pacing around the house about every ten minutes. As their power grew my stomach and back began to feel their grip.

7:00AM arrived and I gently kissed my husband. Whispering, today was going to be the day we would meet our daughter. Sluggishly conscious he steadied himself and began to get ready. The day’s preparations were made for the care of our kids. While Mom, Bruce and I began the process of waiting. Ten minutes, six, then three, and back to ten, …. light and strong contractions penetrated my body as the nervous excitement followed closely.

The distraction of a tv show flickered across our computer over the next five hours as I paced, balanced on a fit ball, stretched, and breathed through each contraction. Bruce made spaghetti and meatballs for lunch and once the dishes had been cleaned I knew it was time.

My prayers went up for light to no contractions as we entered into the confinement of our car. God answered my prayers. Only two light contractions arose as we quickly arrived to a free front row parking spot at the hospital (it was free since the 2nd was considered a public holiday). Again, a prayer answered since strict city parking demands cars be moved every two hours within blocks of the hospital emergency or not.

IMG_2179.JPGPulling myself from the restraints of our car projectile vomiting began. My normal sign that delivery was rapidly approaching. Finally we arrived in the hospital at 1:15pm. The nurse checked me out and to my dismay I was only dilated to a 5.

The contractions got stronger with little reprieve between them. Less than 30 minutes later and I was on my side crying out in pain desperately trying to focus on my breathing. My husband’s cheek resting on mine he stayed close coaching me every step of the way. Even as his hand turned into mush from my newly found super strength. My Mom sweetly but firmly focused my attention when I felt it was too much.

A few pain filled minutes later water gushed down my legs and the intense need to push filled my stomach. Midwives scattered around in preparation. Coaching continued and after three forceful pushes the sweet cry of Amara Joy pierced through the air.

img_2158Quickly, her lavender 8 pound 4 ounce frame was placed on my chest before being taken away for oxygen. Minutes later she was nuzzled close again. My exhausted body clung to her as Bruce and my Mom stroked her head and spoke softly to us both.

One hour and 15 minutes after arriving at the hospital I had dilated from a 5 to a 10. God had been true to my husband and I. It was a very quick delivery.

Now we are home enjoying our precious little girl. Delight fills Esperanza and Gryphin every time they see her. Kisses are smothered across her tiny form and the jockeying for who gets to hold her first becomes a game they play.

Over four years ago when we were looking at names for Gryphin I saw the name Amara and knew if we had a girl I would want to name her so. Amara means to love in Latin and grace in Nigeria. The name Joy came to Bruce a few weeks ago during his quiet time. He really felt the Lord say she was going to bring much joy to our family and to others.

Over my entire pregnancy and now with the birth of our cherished daughter we have found ourselves surrounded by an out pouring of love and support. Thank you all for your continual prayers and coming along side us as we raise our loving daughter in the ways of our sweet Savior Jesus Christ.

Happy New Year!

  11 comments for “How Love Entered the World 

  1. Amy Mack
    January 4, 2017 at 11:27 pm

    Congratulations to all of you!!! What a blessing Amara is for your family. Wishing you all the best, amy

    On Wed, Jan 4, 2017 at 9:02 PM, Sanders Family’s Heart To Serve wrote:

    > Bruce and Kara posted: “The date had come and gone. Two weeks of off and > on contractions were getting old. Yet still here I was 6 days past my due > date with a belly so tight it felt desperate to explode. My emotions > growing heavy, the dread of facing another day pregnant were se” >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura Templeton
    January 5, 2017 at 9:15 am

    Welcome baby Amara and congratulations to the whole family! Sending love your way.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Julie Djandu
    January 5, 2017 at 12:59 pm

    Congratulation and welcome to the new princess

    Like

  4. January 7, 2017 at 11:12 am

    Congratulations, Sanders family!! What a joy it is to hear no complications and the happiness that greeted your dear newborn babe! Glad all went well, my best wishes in adjusting with the new beauty and what a happy new year!! Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Linda Oliver
    January 7, 2017 at 6:00 pm

    Congratulations to Mom, Dad, Sissie and Brother and welcome Amara to your new family. Blessings to all of you!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

